Ultra Wides!

by Christopher Foltz

First off, Nikon introduced last night it’s replacement for the Nikon D5000 with the D5100. At 16.2 megapixels it is the equivalent sensor to the D7000. Nikon also added effects mode on this camera, with things like HDR built in (only two exposures) and selective color. Not sure how I feel about these added features, I know they will not be as high quality as using programs like Photoshop and Photomatix, but still give the novice some post-processing accessibility.

Here is the Nikon page: Nikon D5100

As for what the title of this post is talking about. I am a very lucky man, I am marrying the most incredible woman ever in just over four months. She supports my photography 150% and as a surprise the other day, I received a gift of a Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens from her. I cannot thank her enough.

For most people, a kit lens with a wide point of 18mm is enough. For some like myself, the ability to especially in landscapes, capture something more is desired. The ability to get something in the foreground and make you feel like you can grab it. To capture that little extra. This is where the ultra-wide angle lens comes in.

A lens like this lets you get up close and pull your viewers into your shots. Here is a comparison of two shots, taken right from camera, the first taken at 18mm and the second at 10mm:

Here you can see that difference in the amount you can capture. It doesn’t seem like 10 to 18mm would make that big of a difference but on a ASP-C sensor (Nikon’s crop factor = 1.5) that comes out to 15mm compared to 27mm as 35mm equivalents.

Here are two of my first shots with this lens:

Tracks

Madison

In both of these shots, I got down low to make everything seem more fast and to provide some leading lines to draw the viewer in.

If you love shooting landscapes, I would really suggest getting an ultra wide, it will open a whole new world to you.

