Winter Blues

by Christopher Foltz

Winter is a funny season. On one hand when it is snowing and the high twenties I think it is one of the most beautiful things. That light fluffy snow sitting so pristine on the ground. Then on the other hand it could be like recently here in Chicago: Gloomy and just a mess. It can’t decide if it wants to be cold, snow or rain. Makes for a nasty city. Also makes it very hard to go out and take photos. So I decided to play around with some old shots. I have done several skyline shots from the Adler Planetarium but the one thing that has always bugged me is the distortion on my Panoramas. Since I am covering such a long distance. Even when I correct them before stitching I still get a slight bend. Well yesterday I played with Photoshop and the Lens Correction tool and I think this worked out pretty well. One of my better straight skylines:

Winter Skyline

I have been using a lot of Black and White lately, I go in spurts. Wish there was more drama in this but I think it came out very clean.

What do you do when the winter months have you down? Work on new processing, still life, etc?

Enjoy!

